Wayfinding chronicles

For weeks now I’ve been thinking about this space and what to call it. My general indecisiveness doesn’t lend itself to quick decisions about much of anything, let alone a blog title. Originally, I wanted to name this place after my much-hoped-for future land, but since I live in an apartment that seemed a bit disingenuous, something ending in homestead or farm seemed a bit disingenuous. Plus, I wasn’t relishing the thought of explaining, “no, um…I don’t actually have land yet” over and over again. Fortunately, a perusal of my bookshelf led me to the book The Wayfinders and suddenly I had a happy accident of a title.

The title is rather apt, as happy accidents often are. Wayfinding means a few different things for me right now. It means figuring out a new career, one that I’ve had for under six months and that I’m still adjusting to. It means learning about a new city and a new region and forging new social relationships thanks to the move that went along with the new career. It also means figuring out some personal things that need dealing with, most of which will probably be on the down-low for the foreseeable future.

More than that, though, wayfinding means reorienting myself after some pretty big life changes and figuring out how to best orient myself to my old values in my new life. My goal is to live a life in which I distance myself more and more from some of the more conventional ways of doing things. I have a long-standing interest in greater self-reliance and am looking to find ways to do more for myself. I’m looking to get myself out of the consumer society and to build a life where I can grow, make, mend, and generally do a lot more for myself. This place is a chronicle of these efforts.

Leave a Reply

